top of page
Search
Writer's picturetbrbookblogger

TBR: Kristen Felicetti

About the Author: Kristen Felicetti



What would you like readers to know about you?

I'm a writer who moved to Rochester, NY after over a decade of living in NYC, where I founded and edited the literary magazine The Bushwick Review. I've published short pieces online and in print for years, but Log Off is my first novel. 


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I don’t listen to music when I write, but Ellora, the protagonist of Log Off does. The novel is written in LiveJournal format, which was an early blogging platform where you included your "current music" with each entry. There’s a playlist that contains every song listed in the book.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

Is it weird to say almost every single one? Nearly every book has some aspect that makes me wonder how the author did that and makes me feel excited to go write. I’ll name three from different eras of my life though. As a kid I really liked The Baby-Sitters Club series, and the world of characters and families Ann M. Martin created. Then, around age twenty, discovering George Saunders made me consider elements of writing like voice and sentence construction, whereas before, I was just thinking about plot, characters, and dialogue. And in the last couple of years, Samantha Irby's work inspired me to lean into my own tendencies toward conversational and funny writing.


About the Book: Log Off



What is your book about for those who haven’t read it? 

Log Off centers around Ellora Gao, a 16-year-old growing up in a conservative Western New York suburb during the early 2000s. She's been raised by her mother's ex-boyfriend ever since her mom abandoned them both six years ago. Lonely and lacking role models, she starts a LiveJournal to make connections online but simultaneously makes two new friends offline—Alice, a reformed bad girl, and Tiff, a jazz band prodigy.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I wanted to write a coming-of-age story that both played into and against certain genre tropes, while also incorporating certain aspects of my own youth that I rarely saw in coming-of-age books or movies. Things like: an Asian angsty teen protagonist, a predominately queer friend group (as opposed to one token queer friend), and different types of families. Setting it in the early 2000s provides some fun Y2K nostalgia, but on a deeper level, I wanted to use the near historical time period as a way to actually speak about the present day.  


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I really love Elliott Smith, a musician who died in 2003. His music, like his life, had a lot of pain, but I’ve always been annoyed when people have described his music as merely depressing or sad. There’s so much more going on, including beauty, anger, and hope. In 2004, shortly after he passed away, I made a zine and wrote about wanting to one day write a scene that used his music in a powerful way. Twenty years later, I feel like I’ve finally fulfilled that promise. Toward the end of Log Off, there’s a scene where two characters are driving together while listening to Elliott Smith, and I’m really proud of it.


Where can your book be purchased?

Everywhere! Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Bookshop.org. Or you can request it through your local indie bookshop.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Most aspiring authors trying to write a book have so many other obligations in their lives, whether that be a day job, parenting, or social commitments. So, my first piece of advice is to find your best time for writing and protect that time—that is the key to improving your craft and finishing your book. Writing a book can also take a long time, so my second piece of advice is to put yourself in spaces where your identity as a writer can be recognized and validated. Attend a short workshop, or get to know other writers online. Having a writing community can provide motivation or encouragement when you’re having doubts.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I'm finishing up a book tour, have one more local event in Rochester at the Bookeater Reading Series on July 25th, and hope to spend August at home working on my next novel. But knowing me, I'll probably get antsy and end up booking some travel somewhere.  


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @kris10felicetti

Instagram- @kris10felicetti

Others- Substack @kristen



What’s on your TBR list?

Ana Carrete’s Blush & Blink and Juliet Escoria’s YouAre the Snake.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page