top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturetbrbookblogger

TBR: Lauren Farnsworth

About the Author: Lauren Farnsworth



What would you like readers to know about you?

I think the most interesting thing about me as an author (and to any aspiring authors) is how little time I have to fit in my author life. I work full time and have six-year-old twins, so much of my writing is done in snatched hours when I can run away from the kids or sitting in the dark when I'm waiting for them to go to sleep! I would like any very busy, but aspiring authors (especially women with children) to know that it doesn't have to be a pipe dream to get your debut novel out there one day. Other trivia facts about me are that I once roller skated a marathon, I came 14th in a UK-wide Tetris tournament and sang in an acapella choir. 


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I actually can't listen to music while I'm working – I find it too distracting and can't focus at all! There is however a Lonely Hearts playlist on Spotify, full of songs that I felt summed up this book. Here's the link: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/74LHCh9OqaxJOGhOtUgZ4x?si=0e0aa07810ff4698


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

My favourite writers are Richard Yates, David Nicolls, Nick Hornby, Mike Gayle and Elizabeth Strout. I recommend every and any novel by these writers if someone has not yet had the pleasure of discovering them. My all-time favourite books are Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates, Us by David Nicholls and Amy & Isabelle by Elizabeth Strout. I adore a writer who can create an utterly compelling character who has flaws and all. 


About the Book: The Lonely Hearts Trivia Night



What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

It's a story of five lonely souls finding each other by the draw of one of the character's tenacity for winning a London-wide pub quiz tournament. There's stay-at-home-mum Bryony, married with children since she was a teen; feisty and unpredictable Donna who battles her mental health; Harry, a loveable yet immature Jack-the-lad who is stuck in the past; and Luke and Jaime, a couple who followed the bright lights of London only to be met with disappointment. The five characters, underdogs at the pub quiz and in life, each deal with their own separate issues while also intertwining with each other, and are continually drawn together by their success (and failure) in the quiz league. I think it's important for readers to know that these characters are very real, in the sense that they might not always do what the reader thinks they should. Ultimately it's a story of friendship, the haphazard launch into adult life and the meaning of success. 


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

The novel was sparked by a real-life 'Jaime and Luke', my friends who moved to London without knowing anyone and joined a meet-up pub group. I must, however, say on their behalf that the similarities to 'Jaime and Luke' end there. There is also a real London pub quiz tournament that runs annually, and I spent many a happy evening watching their matches. There is a little bit of me and the things that have happened to me throughout my life sprinkled across the book – particularly my experiences of being a twenty-something in London and figuring out 'being a grownup'.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

My favourite scene occurs in the first chapter, when Jaime and Luke are getting ready to go to the pub quiz for the first time. It was the first scene I ever wrote, four years ago, before I had any idea what the book would be about or  knew who any of the other characters would be. At that point I'm not sure I intended for it to be a book at all, but it was the first time I had written anything since my twins were born in 2018 and turned my life on its head, so it will always hold a special place in my heart. 


Where can your book be purchased?

It's available on shelves and to order in good bookstores and online outlets. 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Bury yourself in the art of story and character structure. It's at the heart of what keeps a reader reading. A brilliantly-crafted structure will always make any story better. Rather than feeling imprisoned by 'the rules', try to think of it as the skeleton on which to hang your words. I also think it's great to view writing a novel as 'little and often' – to churn out 80-100,000 words can feel like a daunting task (and it is!), but if you keep chipping away at it – even just a couple of hundred words a day and keep at it, one day it will exist. I was also recently given the advice that if the writing doesn't feel 'easy' then you've gone wrong somewhere, and rather than trying to just push through, you should stop and figure out what it is before ploughing on. This has been a very valuable piece of advice in the writing of my second book which I am finding much harder than my first!



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I'm currently writing my second book which is taking up ALL of my spare time right now. Similar to Lonely Hearts, It will feature a warm-hearted and joyful cast of characters that will have readers laughing and crying – sometimes on the same page. 


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @laurenatops

Instagram- @laurenfarnsworthwrites

TikTok- @laurenfarnsworthauthor



What’s on your TBR list?

David Nicholls –You Are Here 

Mike Gayle – A Song of Me and You 

Libby Page – The Lifeline

Beth O'Leary – The Wake-Up Call

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page