top of page
Search

TBR: Adriana Trigiani

About the Author: Adriana Trigiani


What would you like readers to know about you?

I am just like them. I want to read a good book and I want to be transported into a world of characters that sweep me away.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I write in total silence.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

All of the writers of my childhood including Beverly Cleary, Astrid Lindgren, Betty MacDonald, Madeleine L'Engle, Shel Silverstein, Johanna Spyri, Laura Ingalls Wilder and Louise Fitzhugh, among others. The Bobbsey Twins and Nancy Drew informed my writing too.


I look at every novel like a biography. Therefore, the Bobbs-Merrill series of famous young Americans was a favorite. I believe I read every single one my library had in the stacks.



About the Book: The Good Left Undone


What is THE GOOD LEFT UNDONE about for those who haven’t read it?

Matelda, the Cabrelli family’s matriarch, has always been brusque and opinionated. Now, as she faces the end of her life, she is determined to share a long-held secret with her family about her own mother’s great love story: with her childhood friend, Silvio, and with dashing Scottish sea captain John Lawrie McVicars, the father Matelda never knew. . . .


In the halcyon past, Domenica Cabrelli thrives in the coastal town of Viareggio until her beloved home becomes unsafe when Italy teeters on the brink of World War II. Her journey takes her from the rocky shores of Marseille to the mystical beauty of Scotland to the dangers of wartime Liverpool—where Italian Scots are imprisoned without cause—as Domenica experiences love, loss, and grief while she longs for home. A hundred years later, her daughter, Matelda, and her granddaughter, Anina, face the same big questions about life and their family’s legacy, while Matelda contemplates what is worth fighting for. But Matelda is running out of time, and the two timelines intersect and weave together in unexpected and heartbreaking ways that lead the family to shocking revelations and, ultimately, redemption.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I believe a family is only as strong as their stories. I loved an intergenerational family that in some respects lost its way. It took Matelda, the matriarch, to get the train back onto the track. It's a novel about the guts of life, and if I get hit by a bus, I believe its themes will stand the test of time.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

Every word.


Where can your book be purchased?

Your local indie, B&N, or Book of the Month if you're a member.



To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Read. Write every day. Take your dream seriously.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

The grand opening of the Barnes & Noble on the Upper East Side of Manhattan- I will be cutting the ribbon! If you are in New York City, you can join me for the event on Wednesday, July 12th at 10am.

And always, follow me on Facebook and Instagram and watch Adriana Ink on Tuesdays on my Facebook page!


Where can we find you:

Instagram- @adrianatrigiani

Facebook- @adrianatrigiani



What’s on your TBR list?

All of the upcoming Adriana Ink authors! I read the books and I'm amazed at the talent and storytelling published in the United States of America.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page