top of page
Search

TBR: Ananya Devarajan

About the Author: Ananya Devarajan

 

What would you like readers to know about you?

Hi y’all! I’m Ananya Devarajan, and I’m the author of KISMAT CONNECTION, my debut young adult romance novel releasing from Inkyard Press and HarperCollins Publishers on June 13, 2023. You can find out more about me on my Twitter and Instagram (@ananyad12) or on my website (www.ananyadevarajan.com) but here’s three fun facts to tie you over until then My astrology chart is made up of only mutable signs, 80% of which are Sagittarius, I’m graduating college the same week that KISMAT CONNECTION comes out, and my favorite Bollywood movie is KUCH KUCH HOTA HAI.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I actually have a playlist made for KISMAT CONNECTION! I’ve linked it here:https://open.spotify.com/playlist/1OojWRPN4CIAWFgttITXd1?si=07797ccb804d4a0f

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I vividly remember reading WHEN DIMPLE MET RISHI by Sandhya Menon when I was fourteen, and thinking to myself “hey, Ananya, maybe you can write something like this one day too!”. Before I discovered Sandhya’s work, I’d never given myself permission to write a love story that wholly centered Indian Americans, so I credit a lot of my inspiration to her. Additionally, I grew up as a huge fan of Alisha Rai, Sabaa Tahir, and Sonali Dev, all of whom are writers I continue to look up to and learn from to this day.

 

About the Book: Kismat Connection

 

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

KISMAT CONNECTION is a young adult romance novel featuring two Indian American childhood best friends who decide to enter an experimental, fake dating scheme to prove the existence of their free will.

 

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

KISMAT CONNECTION was initially inspired by my own experiences as an Indian American teenager. A large aspect of this story deals with the influence of culture on identity, and how this coming-of-age arc presents in different ways in different members of the diaspora. I went through a similar journey at the time of writing KISMAT CONNECTION, which led to mereflecting on the person I used to be through the character of Madhuri, and embracing the person I was becoming through the character of Arjun. On another note, if anyone’s wondering specifically about the inspiration for the magical love story in KISMAT CONNECTION, I’ll have to admit that there is no explanation besides my overactive imagination. Sad news, I know.

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

My favorite scene to write in KISMAT CONNECTION has to be when Madhuri expresses her true feelings for Arjun in thisvulnerable, yet undeniably grand, love confession. There’s Insomnia cookies, shuffled flashcards, and Diwali promises, butI won’t mention any more details to avoid spoilers. I promise you’ll definitely know the scene when you find it.

 

Where can your book be purchased?

 

To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Make sure that you are head-over-heels in love with the story you’ve chosen to tell. As an aspiring author, you’re going to face moments in which your path is called into question, and in moments like those, your love for your story will help you cut through the noise. I’ve found that by remembering why I’m writing in the first place, I can persevere forward, and I hope that with this advice, you can do the same.


What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I have quite a few events coming up in the week of KISMAT CONNECTION’s release, and while I cannot disclose all the details right now, I will say to make sure that you can keep an eye on my socials in the upcoming month for more information! I also have my sophomore novel, which features a second-chance romance between two Bollywood dancers stuck in a time-loop together, releasing from Inkyard Press in Summer 2024.


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @ananyad12

Instagram- @ananyad12

Others- TikTok: @ananyadevarajan

 

What’s on your TBR list?

I love this question! There are so many books I’m looking forward to reading in 2023, but here are five (of the many, and in no particular order) that I cannot wait to dig into—IF I HAVE TO BE HAUNTED by Miranda Sun, THE NEXT NEW SYRIAN GIRL by Ream Shukairy, HOW TO FIND A MISSING GIRL by Victoria Wlosok, DEAR WENDY by Ann Zhao, and THEIR VICIOUS GAMES by Joelle Wellington.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page