top of page
Search

TBR: Colby Wilkens

About the Author: Colby Wilkens



What would you like readers to know about you?

I'm a queer, white and Choctaw-Cherokee author from the PNW. I've been writing all my life, but I didn't begin pursuing publishing until 2019. I love cats, travel, food, and listening to audiobooks while sketching or puzzling.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I don't listen to music as often as I used to when I write, but on occassion I make playlists that match the mood/story of whatever it is I'm writing. It really just depends on the book, but a lot of folk and indie pop, and on occassion some rock and alternative.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

So many! V.E. Schwab for sure. I'm obsessed with every book they write ( I might have 20 different copies of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue). Tamora Pierce defintely had a large impact on my earlier reading and writing life. Romance-wise, I was largely inspired by authors like Sally Rooney, Jen DeLuca, and Talia Hibbert. I'm also a huge Alicia Thompson fan, particularly With Love, From Cold World. That book changed my DNA. 

 

About the Book: If I Stopped Haunting You



What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

If I Stopped Haunting You follows two feuding Native horror authors, Penelope Skinner and Neil Storm, who've both fallen into a bout of writer's block following a convention panel gone bad. Tricked into attending the same writing retreat at a supposedly haunted castle in the Scottish Highlands four months later by a mutual friend, Pen and Neil are forced to face the ghosts of their pasts as real life ghost begin to haunt them, discovering along the way that maybe they should have never hated each other to begin with.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

So many things! When I first got the idea for IISHY (as I've belovingly nicknamed it) I'd been watching The Haunting of Bly Manor. I kind of went on a spooktakular binge as I do every October for spooky season, and along with Bly Manor, I watched Mary Shelly and Lady of the Manor. I saw a Halloween-themed prompt on Twitter one random day in the midst of all this that had something to do with a haunted house, and I just thought 'what if a bunch of horror writers jokingly rented out a haunted house and then it was actually haunted?' And with that, of course came the romance, and both of these characters just naturally fell into place as did all the criticisms around publishing. 


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

Oh, so many! This might be a rom com, but some of my favorite moments were definitely when the horror and the romance started to blend. I'd say the turret scene was one of my favorites. Forcing the characters into a small, tight room to face their fears both literally and figuratively. I also love the moment in the haunted wing where Neil has Pen describe the space. It's one of my favorite beats, and one of the scenes that hasn't changed much since the very first draft!


Where can your book be purchased?

Anywhere in the U.S! Signed preorders can be ordered from Third Place Books with exclusive preorder goodies! 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Write for you. That's it, just makes sure you're not catering to the market and instead focusing on what you want to write.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I'm an attending author at Romance Con in Milwaukee September 6-7th. I'll be sure to post about any other appearances and events via social media and my website! 


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @colbywilkens

Instagram- @colbywilkens



What’s on your TBR list?

I am a total mood reader, so it's constantly changing, but I'm looking forward to reading: 


A Witch's Guide to Magical Innkeepingby Sangu Mandanna,The Familiarby Leigh Bardugo,Ruthless Vowsby Rebecca Ross, A Dark and Drowning Tideby Allison Saft, andLavash at First Sightby Taleen Voskuni. 

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page