top of page
Search

TBR: Danika Stone

About the Author: Danika Stone


What would you like readers to know about you?

I am a multi-genre author who got into writing later in life. I didn't publish any books until my children were all in school because I literally didn't have time! These days, with my children in their teens, I am fortunate enough to not only write, but to also be a fine artist. Like the characters in Inescapable, I am a painter. I am represented by Gust Gallery, in my hometown of Waterton, AB.


I feel like creativity--no matter what the field--is my calling!


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I tend not to listen to anything because I write in the middle of my kitchen, and there's already enough chaos to contend with. I also tend to find the lyrics distracting. I wish I could!


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I couldn't list just one, because there are hundreds of them! I love so many authors, from contemporary poets like Amanda Lovelace and Ada Limon, to modern storytellers like Christopher Beuhlman and Tana French, to the classics of Jane Austen and Jack Kerouac. If it makes my soul sing, it's influenced me.


About the Book: Inescapable


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Inescapable starts with Aimee Westerberg sitting on the floor next to her much-older husband, George Westerberg, a world-renowned artist, as he has a massive heart attack. Heartbroken, she begs him to stay as they wait for the ambulance to arrive. George dies, but... his ghost does as she asks. The rest of the book is Aimee trying to untether herself from her very obsessive and sometimes terrifying ghost.


I think the book trailer probably does the best job at showing the spooky vibes of the book!  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wq65FCTsPhY


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I've lost a number of people in my life, and I've found that at the end of life--even if you know death is the right way--you find yourself bargaining for more time. This book asks the question of "what if you got that?" and... it wasn't what you wanted.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

George Westerberg is probably my favorite antagonist of all time. He's bigger than life, angry and brilliant and obsessively in love with the still-living Aimee. Readers will love (and sometimes hate) George but you'll definitely wonder what he'll do next!


Where can your book be purchased?

In Canada, it can be found at most bookstores. In the US, it has a more select distribution, though I know Barnes and Nobles is carrying it online. You can also find it on Amazon and with other online retailers.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

When it comes to writing, there's nothing more important than to finish what you start. Becoming an author is, in large part, recognizing that if you don't ever complete what you started, you'll never actually get it into the hands of your (potential) readers.

As I often say: Finished is better than perfect.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

There are two big in-person launch events for Inescapable. The first is June 3, 2023, in Edmonton and the second is June 5, 2023, in Calgary. All the details can be found on my social media, or by checking out Stonehouse Publishing.



Where can we find you:

Twitter-

Instagram-

Facebook-

Website-

Others-



What’s on your TBR list?

I always have a number of books going at once. Right now it's Between Two Fires, by Christopher Beuhlman. This is an older book from 2012 or so, that I only just found out about. I'm loving it! A new release that I just ordered is The Summer of Bitter and Sweet by Jen Ferguson. I can't wait to begin! And a re-read book--since I often do that too--is This is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Motar and Max Gladstone. I read this back when it first came out, but the Twitter explosion from this week convinced me it was time to re-read.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page