top of page
Search

TBR: Denise Williams

About the Author: Denise Williams


What would you like readers to know about you?

I would love for readers to know I love love stories and I hope that comes through in my writing, but also that I work full-time in education on top of writing, I'm a parent to a very energetic six-year-old, and I routinely lose my keys, phone, and grasp on my to-do list (in other words...maybe I have a few things in common with some of you!?). The last thing to know about me is that I am truly honored anytime someone spends time with my characters--it's the best part of being an author.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I’m very eclectic—I don’t usually have a full playlist for a book until it’s done but I’ll get stuck on certain songs that inspires a scene and listen to it on repeat—a few recent scenes have been inspired Perfect by Ed Sheeran, Fly My to The Moon by Frank Sinatra, Work Out by J. Cole, Escapism by Raye, and Sara by Starship

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I started listening to Mariana Zapata and Lauren Blakely audiobooks and fell in love with the genre—I was listening to Wait for It by Mariana Zapata when I decided I wanted to try to write my own romance novel.


About the Book: Love and Other Flight Delays


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

LOVE AND OTHER FLIGHT DELAYS is a collection of three linked novellas about finding love in the airport. The first story, The Love Connection, is about an airport dog groomer who needs dating practice and her frequent flier crush, who needs inspiration to finish his romance novel. The second story, The Missed Connection is about two people who share a serendipitous night in an airport together only to learn later they are academic rivals. Finally, The Sweetest Connection is about two best friends and airport employees who have five days to solve a romantic mystery and figure out their feelings for each other before one leaves the country.

 

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I love airports and I always have. The idea of so many people’s stories coalescing in one place feels magical to me and now I’m always on the lookout for budding romance happening around me when I travel.

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I wrote the first draft of The Love Connection during a week-long solo vacation in 2021. I took time away from my non-writing job and my family and spent as much time in airports as possible. It was also amazing to give myself some time just for me to fall back in love with writing.

 

Where can your book be purchased?

It’s available at all book retailers AND in a lot of your favorite airports (please post a photo if you spot it!). You can access all the links to buy the book here: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/704854/love-and-other-flight-delays-by-denise-williams/ and signed copies can be ordered online from Dog-Eared Books (link: https://store.dogearedbooksames.com/author-signed-copies) or StoryHouse Bookpub (Link:https://checkout.square.site/buy/ZWZFS2JGYJG5BJXG5QK5P432 )

 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

The only thing a first draft needs to do is exist. It’s so easy to get caught up in making everything perfect that it can stall the writing. If I could give any advice, it would be to give yourself permission to create a mess of a first draft…that’s why we edit.

 

What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

My next full-length novel is out December 5, 2023, and it’s called TECHICALLY YOURS. This is a second chance romance that takes place in the world of a non-profit aimed at getting kids into careers in tech and centers Pearl and Cord who were highly shipped side characters in THE FASTEST WAY TO FALL. I also have a story included in an upcoming anthology called EVEN IF THE SKY IS FALLING from Canary Press about people sheltering in place during what they think is the end of the world. My contribution is pretty steamy and about two former academic rivals.


Where can we find you:


What’s on your TBR list?

Right now, I’m reading THE TRUE LOVE EXPERIMENT by Christina Lauren, FOREVER YOUR ROGUE by Erin Langston, and STRIKING GOLD by Janine Amesta

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page