top of page
Search

TBR: Eileen Schnabel

About the Author: Eileen Schnabel


What would you like readers to know about you?

I am passionate about American history. History is every bit as fantastic and exciting as movies and video games. From spy missions to battles that changed the world, history is a thrilling adventure and I try to share that in all my stories.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

Whatever is playing at Panera. I often plunk down at a booth, order a bagel and iced tea, and time travel to the Revolutionary War. Writing is solitary so I enjoy the chatter and buzz of people around me tapping away on their laptops. No one knows I'm having sword fights or plotting espionage missions as I refill my tea.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

The entire Anne of Green Gables series by Lucy Maud Montgomery was a magic world to me. I still hope to visit Prince Edward Island one day. 


About the Book: Kep Westguard Rebel Spy


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

For 13-year-old Kep Westguard, time travel isn’t fun and games. It’s adangerous mission to stop his crackpot grandfather from tampering withhistory to reverse the outcome of the American Revolution.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I came across the grave marker of a Revolutionary War soldier in my local cemetery in Wisconsin. I was awed to think of the sacrifice and courage it must have taken to serve with George Washington. I wondered what 'modern kids' would do when faced with such a situation, so I sent four modern kids back to the War of Independence to see what would happen. In the first book in the series ONE IF BY LAND, TWO IF BY SUBMARINE, the time travel team must take Paul Revere's famous midnight ride. In KEP WESTGUARD REBEL SPY, Kep heads to 1777, the Battle of Saratoga, a turning point in the American Revolution.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

In the story, my main character Kep Westguard must infiltrate the British camp. He meets two real life fascinating characters: General John Burgoyne (aka Gentleman Johnny, a playwright) and Baroness von Riedesel, an amazing woman who later published a book about her experiences in the war. Writing both of those characters and researching their lives was a high point.


Where can your book be purchased?

Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Apple, Kobo and other others.



To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Never give up hope and to enjoy the process. One of my favorite quotes: “You can measure your worth by your dedication to your path, not by your successes or failures.” ― Elizabeth Gilbert


What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I am looking forward to an author visit on May 6 at the Oregon Public Library to discuss Kep Westguard Rebel Spy and the Battle of Saratoga 1777.


Where can we find you:

Website-https://eileenschnabel.com/


What’s on your TBR list?

The Acland journalLady Harriet Acland and the American War.  I am currently researching my next time travel adventure and it will include Lady Harriet Aclandan incredibly brave British noblewoman who was at the Battle of Saratoga in 1777. I am excited to read her account of that famous battle.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page