top of page
Search

TBR: Emi Pinto


About the Author: Emi Pinto


What would you like readers to know about you?

I was that kid in school who always had a book on the top left corner of my desk, and anytime the teacher paused, I would whip it out and continue reading. I don’t think much has changed, except now I get to write as well. And I love it.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I usually like to write in silence with my office window open, listening to the birds or the traffic or the sound of rain or my cats racing around behind me.

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I was fortunate to be surrounded by books growing up – there was always a leaning stack of them in each and every room. We also loved popping in to the local library and bookstore at least once per week. Stories by authors such as Lemony Snicket (A Series of Unfortunate Events), Emily Rodda (Deltora’s Quest), Kenneth Opal (Silverwing series), Eoin Colfer (Artemis Fowl series), and many many more made every day a magical adventure, and certainly inspired me to one day try writing myself.



About the Book: Bee Baskshi and the Gingerbread Sisters

 

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Bee Baskshi and the Gingerbread Sisters is about a girl who feels like she doesn’t quite fit in, and wishes she was as brave as the monster-hunting heroine from her favourite scary book series. And when she gets stuck going to a foresty buggy cottage with her family, she gets the chance to find out that maybe she is good enough just the way she is. Oh, and also ghosts and monsters and witches are definitely real. 

 

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I was actually inspired by an actual trip to a cottage with my family. Of course, there was no witch after me or a haunted house across the lake, but I will say that some of the ghosts were.

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I love writing the scenes when Bee (the main character) and Lucas (her trusty ghost-hunting sidekick) first meet. They are so very different and there is so much delicious awkwardness at first.

 

Where can your book be purchased? 

Anywhere books are sold! And don’t forget to support your local independent bookstores if you’re able😊


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

I think there’s lots I could say here, but the main thing is to start writing, then keep writing, and then don’t give up.


Where can we find you:

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page