top of page
Search

TBR: Evan Porter

About the Author: Evan Porter


What would you like readers to know about you?

Oh, gosh. I don't know! I'm just a regular dude. I live in Atlanta but I'm from Baltimore — I love Ravens football and steamed crabs, beer, pop-punk music, reading, and movies. More than anything, I love being a dad to my two girls with all my heart and that's why I decided to write a book about it.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I find anything with lyrics too distracting, so I'll just write in silence if I can. If I'm somewhere noisy, like a coffee shop, I might go with acoustic guitar instrumentals in the style of whatever I'm writing. For Dad Camp that was a lot of "around the campfire" sort of summery acoustic jams.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

So many! I read really widely and appreciate so many different genres and styles. But I would have to say that the best thing I've ever read is any random line from a David Nicholls novel. His work is absolutely brilliant down to the line-level and I aspire to it every day.


About the Book: Dad Camp


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Dad Camp is a heart-warming and funny novel about a loving dad who drags his 11-year-old daughter to "father-daughter week" at a remote summer camp — their last chance to bond before he loses her to teenage girlhood entirely.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I was really inspired to write the book during the pandemic, being home with my kids all the time and doing absolutely nothing but parenting. I started to feel like I had no identity of my own outside of changing diapers and making snacks. I wanted to explore that kind of love in the book — the deep, unconditional love and the sacrifices it requires. I wanted to write about the good and the bad, and what makes it so hard.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

There's a scene where a bunch of the dads sit around drinking beers and just absolutely unloading all of their deepest insecurities and flaws. It was such a great place to dig into toxic masculinity and society's expectations/pressures on men in a, hopefully, fun way. I rewrote it many times trying to get it just right.


Where can your book be purchased?

Everywhere! It's on Amazon, B&N, Bookshop.org and more.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

I read something once about how only a small percentage of people who start writing a book will finish it. Only a small percentage of those people will revise it. And only a small percentage of them will have the courage to show it to others, pitch it, query it, etc. Just stay in the game and give yourself a shot. Finish what you started and don't be afraid to show the world.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

Dad Camp comes out on June 11, 2024. In the meantime, I'm working on my next book and just beginning to ramp up marketing and promotion for my debut. It's gonna be a fun summer!



Where can we find you:

Twitter- esporter

Instagram- wordsbyevanporter



What’s on your TBR list?

Right now I'm having a blast reading lots of other 2024 debut authors. I just read and loved Strong Like You by T.L. Simpson, Hannah Tate, Beyond Repair by Laura Piper Lee, and am currently devouring The Eyes Are The Best Part by Monika Kim. 2024 is also going to bring new books from some of my favorite authors including David Nicholls and Richard Roper.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page