top of page
Search

TBR: Franklin Horton

About the Author: Franklin Horton


What would you like readers to know about you? 

I’ve wanted to be a writer since I was 13 years old. I started submitting stories to magazines then, but never had any luck with it. I went on to get a degree in English specifically because I wanted to write. I went on to write 7 novels over 25 years and never could get an agent. I finally had my breakthrough when Amazon started the Kindle program. Since that time I’ve released over 30 novels and sold over a million books. Now I write full-time, which was my lifelong dream.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write? 

I’ve found I can’t listen to music while I write. It seems to occupy that part of my brain were the stories come from and drowns out the voices of the characters.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I became a reader about the time Stephen King was first exploding onto the scene. He was one of the first cool, celebrity authors. There had been other famous authors but he was like a rock star. I wanted to do what he was doing.



About the Book: The Borrowed World Series and More


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it? 

I have thirty out. Most are post-apocalyptic thrillers. Imagine the Walking Dead with no zombies and that’s post-apoc. They’re essentially survival stories about people coping with a difficult situation. Finding hope where there is none. I’ve also written several thrillers and intend to go more in that direction in the future.


What has been your inspiration for writing it? 

I enjoyed reading this kind of fiction at the time and wanted to write a new book for Amazon Kindle. It was a very hot genre with a lot of demand. It went to number one in its category and into the top thousand books on all of Amazon. It ended up changing my life.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write? 

I like writing the insightful, profound moments that occur when a character is alone with themselves. Where they come to an understanding or process something significant about their life or situation. A main character should show growth or change during the arc of a story and I enjoy writing the moments that show that growth.


Where can your book be purchased? 

They’re all on Amazon and Audible.

 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book? 

Don’t expect immediate gratification or success. I wrote 7 novels over 25 years before I succeeded at this. There’s a lot to learn about the business of both writing books and marketing them. You have to be able to do both to make a living at it. I’d also encourage you to attend conferences for beginning writers. Nothing is more inspirational than meeting other people who share the same dream as you. It also gives you the opportunity to pick up new information and see success stories.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc. 

I don’t do many events anymore, but I try to release five or six books a year. My most recent release was HATE BOX, book 3 in my Ty Stone thriller series, which is about human trafficking. My next release should be in May and it will be the 9th in my Mad Mick Series, which is post-apocalyptic.


Where can we find you:

Others- Merchandise Store – resetroadhouse.com



What’s on your TBR list? 

I just finished William Landay’s ALL THAT IS MINE I CARRY WITH ME. Next will be Yasmin Angoe’s HER NAME IS KNIGHT.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page