top of page
Search

TBR: Jenna Miller


About the Author: Jenna Miller


What would you like readers to know about you?

I'm a fat, lesbian author who writes stories about girls who deserve to be seen and have their voices heard. When I'm not writing, you can find me reading, cross-stitching, exploring coffee shops, and traveling.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I used to only be able to write/edit to classical music and instrumental versions of songs. Now I can sometimes focus with curated playlists. Some of my favorites for writing are Taylor Swift, Phoebe Bridgers, MUNA, and Dermot Kennedy.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

So many! My main influence when starting to write Young Adult was Julie Murphy. Her books were my first exposure to seeing fat characters in a positive light. From a classics standpoint, I've always been a fan of Jane Austen. She was truly ahead of her time.



About the Book: Out of Characters


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Out of Character is about a high school senior named Cass who has a secret online roleplaying addiction. When her mom leaves her and her dad, and she gets her first girlfriend, she has to figure out how to juggle her two worlds and all the emotions that come with them. And when she meets her online best friend for the first time IRL, she realizes there are more than friendship feelings, which of course makes everything even more complicated.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I was inspired by the 10+ years of online roleplaying I did starting in high school (though it's completely a work of fiction). I also wanted to write a book about complicated relationships and the beauty of found family.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I really enjoyed writing the scenes that take place in Chicago. I met a handful of roleplay friends there for the first time, so it's always had a special place in my heart.


Where can your book be purchased?

You can find Out of Character from all major retailers and at your local indie bookstore.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Take your time, and write the story that won't leave you alone. The market is forever changing, and trying to write toward it will only disappoint you in the end. Focus on the story that's driving your creativity, and make sure it's the best you can do before trying to get an agent or book deal. It will feel like a race, but I promise you it's not. You'll find your audience when the time is right.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I have a second book coming out from HarperCollins in 2024 that will be announced soon, so keep an eye out! As for events, I'll be at the Columbus Book Festival July 15-16 and Steamy Lit Con August 18-19.


Where can we find you:

Twitter- jmillwrites

Instagram- jmillwrites



What’s on your TBR list?

My Netgalley shelf is overflowing! The next three on my list are Threads That Bind by Kika Hatzopoulou, Where Echoes Die by Courtney Gould, and The Borrow a Boyfriend Club by Page Powars.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page