top of page
Search

TBR: Jenny L. Howe



About the Author: Jenny L. Howe

 

What would you like readers to know about you?

The most important to thing to know about me is that I write books that have positive plus-size representation. As a plus-size person myself, I know how rare it is to find books across genres and age categories that feature plus-size main characters whose stories are not focused on their bodies or on food/eating. The characters I write live whole, full lives that have nothing to do with the size of their bodies. And they get the kind of happily-ever-afters that plus-size people are so often told we don’t deserve.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

Unfortunately, I have to write in silence. Otherwise, I end up singing or humming along to whatever I’m listening to and completely losing the thread of my character’s voice.

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

Oh gosh, so many. When I was in junior high, R.L. Stine and Christopher Pike inspired me to start writing my own stories. Julie Murphy and Olivia Dade helped me find the strength to start writing plus-size main characters. Christina Lauren’s books and Talia Hibbert’s books made me want to write romance.

 

 

About the Book: The Make-Up Test

 

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

THE MAKE-UP TEST is an academic rivals-to-lovers, second-chance romance set in graduate school, where Allison Avery, who has just started her Ph.D. in literature, finds herself up against her college ex-boyfriend for a mentorship with her favorite professor.

 

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I spent ten years in graduate school, and, like Allison, I studied medieval literature. I did not have a whirlwind second-chance romance during my time in grad school, but it seemed like such a great setting for an academic rivals-to-lovers story, since there’s so much opportunity for competition and tension (and banter!).

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

Oh gosh. The Scrabble scene, of course (if you know, you know. lol). But I also had a great time writing all the scenes where Allison and Colin argue/flirt during class discussions. It is some of my favorite banter from the book!

 

Where can your book be purchased?

Anywhere books are sold!

 

To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Be super self-indulgent in your first drafts. Throw in everything you love. That first draft is the one time in the process where it is just you and the story, so make it a story you enjoy reading! You can always take out what doesn’t work during revisions. I’ve found that doing this has helped me to hold onto the joy that writing gives me, even when it gets hard.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

My second romance novel, ON THE PLUS SIDE, releases on December 26! This one follows a woman who is nominated to be on her favorite makeover show (which is focused on helping plus-size people find happiness) and she accidentally catches feelings for the grumpy cameraman during filming. Then, of course, chaos ensues.

 

I’m doing a few events this summer (most of which aren’t announced yet, so keep an eye on my social media). First up, I will be joining Ali Hazelwood and Tori Anne Martin in conversation about Ali’s new book, LOVE, THEORETICALLY, on June 14. The event is hosted through the Harvard Bookstore so check them out for more information!


Where can we find you:

Twitter-@jennylhowe

Instagram-@jennylhowe

Others-TikTok-@jennylhowe



What’s on your TBR list? 

Everything. LOL

I am currently reading

·         Love, Theoretically by Ali Hazelwood

·         Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

·         Yellowface by R.F. Kuang

·         Aftercare Instructions by Bonnie Pipkin

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page