top of page
Search

TBR: Jessica Vitalis

About the Author: Jessica Vitalis

 

What would you like readers to know about you?

Regardless of what genre I’m writing in, my goal as an author is always to write stories that are entertaining while encouraging readers to ask thought-provoking questions or consider the world in a new way.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

Oh, I’m so boring in this regard! I usually write in silence at home, though I’m also fine writing in noisy public spaces.

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

There wasn’t any one book that inspired me to become a writer, but there is a book that has significantly impacted my career. When I first started writing, I worked on a lot of picture books, but every manuscript I brought to my critique group was met with the same feedback: they sounded like the first chapters of middle grade novels. Since I hadn’t read middle grade in years (decades?!), I went to the library and checked out a stack. The first one I read was Kit’s Wilderness by David Almond, and I knew immediately that middle grade was the space for me.

 


About the Book: The Rabbit's Gift

  

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

After finishing The Wolf’s Curse, I wanted to write a companion novel. Since The Wolf’s Curse is a twist on Grim Reaper mythology, I thought it would be really cool to explore the opposite—a story about life. The idea came together when I discovered the French myth that babies are grown in cabbage plants. Because I wanted to have an animal connection in the vein of The Wolf’s Curse, I created a world in which human babies are grown and delivered by rabbits. In addition to exploring friendship and family, I was eager to highlight the connection between humans and the natural world.

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I really enjoyed writing the opening pages for each of my two point of view characters; I didn’t know very much about them before I started writing, and I was astonished by how clearly they jumped off the page as well as how distinctive they were from each other. Quincy Rabbit immediately revealed himself to be sweet and determined as he worked to prove himself to his family by saving his starving warren, whereas Fleurine clearly felt lonely and trapped despite her immense privilege.

 

Where can your book be purchased?

The Rabbit’s Gift is available everywhere books are sold (but I’d encourage you to support your local indie bookstore if you’re able).

 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Never give up! I wrote six manuscripts over thirteen years before selling my first book, and now I have four books coming out in four years. There is no such thing as “wasted” time or manuscripts; they all play an important role in turning you into the writer you want to become. On a more practical level, I encourage every writer to read at least 100 books in the category they want to write in; understanding the market is absolutely critical for professional authors.

 


I’m tremendously excited about my next book; Coyote Queen publishes on October 10th and is a story near and dear to my heart. Inspired by my childhood, it features a young girl who joins a beauty pageant hoping to earn the prize money she needs to escape a desperate situation, only to discover an eerie connection with a local pack of coyotes that show her who she is––and who she can save. I’m also working on my first novel in verse—set to be released in the fall of 2024!


Where can we find you:

Website-https://jessicavitalis.com/



What’s on your TBR list?

I just finished a delightfully creepy middle grade horror called It Found Us by author Lindsay Currie, and I’m eagerly awaiting an advanced reader copy of Between Monsters and Marvels by Alysa Wishingrad.

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page