top of page
Search

TBR: Laura Taylor Namey

About the Author: Laura Taylor Namey


What would you like readers to know about you?

I’d love readers to know how much I appreciate them and that they choose to spend a few hours or days with me when they pick up one of my stories. 


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I always make a playlist for every book I write, but I usually write in a quiet space. Sometimes I’ll play a couple songs from my book playlist when I’m revising.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

Too many to name them all! I greatly admire Angie Thomas, Sabaa Tahir, Lois Lowry, and Celeste Ng.


About the Book: A British Girl’s Guide To Hurricanes and Heartbreak


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

In British Girl, we visit the Cuban Girl world three years later after Orion and Flora’s mum has recently passed. In her grief, and after making some questionable choices, Flora escapes to Miami to stay with Lila’s parents. While there, she meets some intriguing new people, just as she’s starting to see a longtime friendship in a new light. 


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I wanted to revisit the world of A Cuban Girl’s Guide To Tea and Tomorrow, but not necessarily write a sequel following Lila and Orion. They are in British Girl quite a lot, but I thought it was time for Flora to tell her story.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

The scene at the Vizcaya villa. You’ll know it when you reach it. :)


Where can your book be purchased?

Please preorder A British Girl’s Guide To Hurricanes and Heartbreak anywhere you love to buy books.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Read as many books as you can in the genre and age group you want to write in. Then pick your top five and try to list or notate what it was about those five books that made them appeal to you more. This can really help with honing your craft and making you aware of the areas in writing and storytelling that you need to work on.


Also, I highly recommend getting your writing, even bits, in front of other writers as soon as possible. Becoming comfortable with sharing and getting feedback on your work early on will prepare you for the tough editorial road later on. 



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

A BRITISH GIRL’S GUIDE TO HURRICANES AND HEARTBREAK releases on September 26, 2023. And next fall, stay tuned for my “frenemies to lovers” ya set in the Echo Park neighborhood of Los Angeles.


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @lauratnamey

Instagram-@laura_namey

Others-TikTok: @laurataylornamey


What’s on your TBR list?

Begin Again, by Emma Lord

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page