top of page
Search
Writer's picturetbrbookblogger

TBR: Mailan Doquang

Updated: Jun 26

About the Author: Mailan Doquang


What would you like readers to know about you?

I took a circuitous route to fiction. I'm an art and architectural historian by training. It took me years to realize that what I enjoy most about my work isn't research or teaching, but writing.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I'm easily distracted, so I can either write or listen to music, not both at once. That said, I live in New York and there's a constant symphony of sounds outside my window. It's one of the reasons I'm drawn to writing about urban life.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I've always loved books that transcend genre. I'm in awe of writers who combine the propulsion and twists of a thriller with the subtleties of literary fiction. There are so many excellent examples, but Disappearing Earth by Julia Phillips stands out because I read it right before I started writing Blood Rubies.


About the Book: Blood Rubies



What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Blood Rubies is a heist gone wrong entwined with a missing person story set in New York and Bangkok. It follows Rune Sarasin, a half American, half Thai jewel thief whose life spirals out of control after she rips off a violent gemstone trafficker and her boyfriend's sister vanishes from a dangerous slum.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I'm a huge fan of heists. I grew up reading Maurice Leblanc's Arsène Lupin stories and I wanted to create a similar character: a thief with a strong moral code. Because of my work, I've also spent a lot of time thinking about the illegal trade in cultural property, from archeological finds to Nazi looted art. It got me thinking about how people profit from various kinds of trafficking. Writing about the gemstone black market wasn't a big leap.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

I loved writing the 'baby-Rune' scenes. They're flashbacks to Rune's childhood that explain how she became the person she is.


Where can your book be purchased?

You can get a signed copy from The Mysterious Bookshop and The Strand, or you can order it from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or Bookshop.org.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

There's no right or wrong path to publishing. It's your journey. Enjoy it!



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

The second installment of Rune's story comes out in 2025. In the meantime, I'm working on a standalone about a museum curator whose life unravels after she becomes the victim of a random crime.


Where can we find you:

Twitter- AuthorMailan

Instagram- authormailan

Facebook- AuthorMailan



What’s on your TBR list?

Birds Aren't Real by Peter McIndoe and Connor Gaydos, The Return of Ellie Black by Emiko Jean, and Tolsoy's War and Peace, which has been on my TBR list for decades.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page