top of page
Search

TBR: Meghan Schiereck

About the Author: Meghan Schiereck

 

What would you like readers to know about you?

That I lost my own boyfriend in 2018. (You can read about my story in the HuffPo here!) It was not easy and this book is the culmination of all my thoughts, feelings and wishes after going through that.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I always listen to music while I write! In fact, it’s basically a requirement. I listened to a lot of Indie-rock while writing Please Don’t Die. You can listen to the playlist I made for this book here.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

This is hard to say— there’s so many! I’ve always been a reader, but I’d have to say Nora McInerny is what pushed me over the edge. Although I’m a romance writer, her books about the loss of her husband and her community (the now defunct Hot Young Widows Club) got me through my loss and I wanted to return the favor.

 

About the Book: Please Don't Die

What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

In short: Rosemary O'Brien, a painter living in the West Village in New York City, still reeling from the loss of her fiancé three years later,  falls in love with the man who owns an asian fusion tea house, and moves into her former apartment.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I’ve kind of already talked about this, but aside from the loss of my own boyfriend, living in New York City. When I was writing it, I had been living in NYC for about a year, and was totally, completely infatuated with the city. It was a dream to write about the places I saw.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

This is hard, but when Rosemary is teaching Jordan how to draw. I am not a great artist by any means, but there’s a special place in my heart for people who take the time to teach others how to do things. I think it’s a great moment between the two of them where you can really see the patience both Rosemary and Jordan have.


Where can your book be purchased?

The usual places! Barnes & Noble and Amazon.

 

To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Keep reading (and writing)! The more you read (and write), the better writer you will become.

 

What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

My second book, BACK BURNER, comes out in 2024, also with Sands Press. I don’t have any events planned, but you can always keep up with me on my Twitter where I’ll be sure to post anything.

 

Where can we find you:

Twitter- @rhursday

Instagram- @rhursday

 


What’s on your TBR list?

Bend Toward The Sun by Jen Devon

The Love Wager by Lynn Painter

Planes, Trains and All the Feels by Livy Hart (May 2023)

The Art of Scandal by Regina Black (August 2023)

You, With a View by Jessica Joyce (July 2023)

With Love, From Cold World by Alicia Thompson (August 2023)

Mrs. Nash’s Ashes by Sarah Adler (May 2023)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page