top of page
Search

TBR: Merriam Sarcia Saunders

About the Author: Merriam Sarcia Saunders


What would you like readers to know about you?

That I might look serious and have a serious job, but that I’m actually a giant goofball who loves singing and riding my bike fast and reading great scary stories.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I don’t listen to music. I have ADHD and I dive so deeply into the world I’m writing about that I find it hard to focus on anything else.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I became penpals with a middle grade author when I was ten. Her name was Carolyn Sheehan and we wrote faithfully into my adulthood and well past when I had kids of my own, until she passed away at 91. She was most definitely my inspiration. 


About the Book: Trouble with a Tiny t


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

My book is about a boy who finds magic and accidentally uses it to create a tiny T.rex in his bedroom. It’s growing and he can’t get rid of it. His continued use of the magic he can’t figure out keeps creating more things that only make his situation worse. He also has ADHD and gets in trouble a lot - but, he’s a super talented artist too. I wanted to show a story of a kid who isn’t only about his ADHD and the trouble it causes, but who also can use his talents to solve his problems. 


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

ADHD is all over my life. Me, my kids, their dad, my brother, and I’m a therapist who helps people with ADHD. But there weren’t a lot of positive stories about kids with ADHD where the whole story wasn’t just about that (think Joey Pigza Swallowed the Key) or wasn’t about their ADHD actually being the hidden fact they were half Greek God (think Lightning Thief). So, I wrote one. 


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

My main character, Westin, accidentally creates the Norse god, Thor - but he’s only six inches tall. And he falls “in love” with Westin’s new friend, Lenora and isn’t too crazy about Westin. Thor’s scenes are hilarious. I love Thor so much! 


Where can your book be purchased?

Directly from the publisher, Capstone, or online at your favorite online retailer. 


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Read a lot of books in your genre and read books on craft. Join writer’s groups. Share your work. Listen critically to the feedback. Don’t try to publish it only after your mom or best friend tells you it’s great. Agents and editors are a lot more selective than your mom and you only get their fresh eyes once, so polish it up and take your time! And - don’t give up. This is a very difficult business and you may never get traditionally published - but you most certainly won’t if you give up!


What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I’m on submission with a picture book and finishing revisions on a futuristic middle grade (hint - more dinosaurs!) In the meantime, I’ve published a video series for parents of kids with ADHD called How to Parent ADHD without Losing Your Mind, and two non-fiction ADHD-related adult books. 


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @Merriam_Info

Instagram- @HowToParentADHD

Facebook- How To Parent ADHD


What’s on your TBR list?

Sally J. Pla - The Fire, the Water & Maudie McGinn

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez - Friends Like These

George Saunders - A Swim in the Pond in the Rain

Lauren Wolk - Echo Mountain


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page