top of page
Search

TBR: Sara Bennett-Wealer

About the Author: Sara Bennett-Wealer


What would you like readers to know about you?

I'm a Midwestern girl who loves ballet, fosters kittens, and enjoys thrifting with my daughters and eating out with my husband. I have way too many pets - LOL


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

When I'm actually writing, I like it silent unless I'm someplace like a coffee shop. Music, even classical music, distracts me too much. I do love music while I'm driving, and for my most recent project I've made a really incredible playlist. I listen to it almost daily and it's giving me tons of inspiration. The vibe is very female, very dark, with glimmers of hope here and there. Artists include Aurora, Florence and the Machine, October Project and Agnes Obel.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I'm a huge fan of Edith Wharton. Even though she was writing during and about the Gilded Age, her style is so biting and fresh feeling that it stands up today in the best of ways.


About the Book: Grave Things Like Love


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

GRAVE THINGS LIKE LOVE is about Elaine, who is growing up in a family owned funeral home. They're expecting her to take it over someday, and she's not sure that's what she wants, plus she's super-annoyed by rumors that her house is haunted. When a new guy comes to town who's obsessed with ghost hunting, she lets him investigate and they uncover a voice from the past - one Elaine is certain can help her figure out what to do with her life, and which boy in her life deserves her heart.


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

When I was a journalist, I spent a lot of time in a family owned funeral home, doing research for a feature story. I ended up moving jobs before I could write it, but I always thought it would be a great setting for a YA novel.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

Early in the book, Elaine has to drive the family's Victorian hearse in a parade, which also entails dressing up in a Victorian undertaker's costume. That entire section was a ton of fun, capturing Elaine's discomfort and also the flavor of a small town parade... baby ballerinas and guys driving tiny cars, what's not to love!


Where can your book be purchased?

Anywhere you buy books! There are links at my website sarabennettwealer.com


To the Future Writer:

What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

WRITE!! Set yourself a word count goal each day, and you'll be amazed how it adds up. Don't wait for inspiration, just sit down and write. And then, be open to feedback. You will revise your book several times before it gets published, so don't get too attached to it!



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

I've got several projects in with my agent and am completing a puzzle box book I really love - just waiting to see what sells next!



Where can we find you:

Twitter- @sbennettwealer

Instagram- @sbennettwealer

Facebook- @sbennettwealer


What’s on your TBR list?

I have the biggest TBR pile! Ack! I think next I'll be reading I'M GLAD MY MOM DIED by Jeannette McCurdy. My kids were growing up during the golden age of Nickelodeon and iCarly was a favorite, and I know Jeannette has been through a lot. I'm interested to read about her journey, even though I know it will probably make me furious.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

TBR: Jessica Lewis

About the Author: Jessica Lewis What would you like readers to know about you? I’m a Black author who lives and writes full time in Alabama. I enjoy listening to music (the weirder, the better), readi

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page