top of page
Search
Writer's picturetbrbookblogger

TBR: Sarah Hogle

About the Author: Sarah Hogle


What would you like readers to know about you?

Hello! My name is Sarah Hogle and I am the author of four romantic comedy novels: You Deserve Each Other, Twice Shy, Just Like Magic, and Old Flames and New Fortunes. I live in Ohio with my husband, three kids, and two dogs. I love 90s romcom movies, cozy games, pastries, and coffee.


What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I make soundtracks for each book to listen to while I write. I also listen to a lot of instrumental soundtracks from films (The Boy and the Heron is a recent favorite), and rain or ocean sounds. I can't write in silence, and I can't stand a silent room in general. I always need some sort of white noise running.


What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

When I was a kid, I devoured Sharon Creech's novels--I remember feeling so inspired and understood in those pages. Creech's writing style is dreamy and eerie, just a touch macabre; her words have embedded into my brain and will always and forever influence my own writing. I have wanted to be an author since I was old enough to read, and my writing style has roots in staying up late reading her books, as well as Gail Carson Levine's books, and many, many others.


About the Book: Old Flames and New Fortunes


What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Old Flames and New Fortunes is a witchy contemporary romcom about Romina Tempest, a magical florist. When her shop is in need of some quick cash, she and her colleague Trevor ask his rich father for a loan; and while doing so, fall into a fake-dating ruse. They then learn that Trevor's father is about to marry the mother of Romina's high school love and the boy who broke her heart, Alex King. Romina and Trevor continue the ruse to make their exes jealous, but Romina underestimated the chemistry that still sparks between her and Alex. Her ploy to make him regret breaking up with her is thrown off-balance by the reemergence of feelings for him. 


What has been your inspiration for writing it?

My inspiration for Old Flames and New Fortunes was basically throwing a bunch of stuff I like into a cauldron and boiling it all together. Witches (Practical Magic is one of my all-time favorites, and the foundation of my love for witchy sisters and their matriarchal family) Small towns (think Stars Hollow, with magical folklore), second chance romance, and shenanigans. I love when characters are trying to lie to each other about something, unsuccessfully. Alex clearly does not believe that Romina and Trevor are dating, and he sits by watching in amusement as she digs a hole.


What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

My favorite scene to write was Romina, Trevor, and Alex all sleeping in the same room. Alex suspected that Romina and Trevor were faking being a couple, and Romina was desperately trying to pull off the lie while an oblivious Trevor didn't do anything to make it convincing. In this scene, Alex is smug, Romina is at loose ends, and Trevor is thinking about raspberry silk pie.


Where can your book be purchased?

My book can be purchased where most books are sold: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, the Penguin Random House website, and many indie bookstores like The Ripped Bodice, The Novel Neighbor, The Book Loft of German Village, and Meet Cute.


To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

My advice to aspiring authors who want to write a book is to ignore trends and write the thing that feels like YOU, a story you feel you are uniquely equipped to write, more than anyone else. And don't give up! The journey to publication can be a long one, for some. I wrote several books and was rejected loads of times before my debut published. Keep writing, keep challenging yourself to do better. The practice will hone your voice, and if you keep at it, you will get to where you want to be.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

Right now I'm working on the next book in the Moonville series, which will publish next year. Keep an eye out on my Instagram @sarah_hogle or website, sarahhogle.com, for news about bookish events for this summer!



What’s on your TBR list?

Currently reading: Christmas is All Around by Martha Waters.

TBR: Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page