top of page
Search

TBR: Swati Hegde

Updated: Feb 29

About the Author: Swati Hegde



What would you like readers to know about you?

Hi, I’m Swati Hegde! I’m a freelance editor, fiction writing coach, and romance author from Bangalore, India. My debut novel, Match Me If You Can, is releasing this June. A self-proclaimed coffee shop enthusiast, I can usually be found at the nearest café with a hot mug of tea. I’m a huge Taylor Swift fan, I love mint chocolate chip ice-cream (no, it doesn’t taste like toothpaste!!!), and I’m a mom to two adorable cats.

 

What music do you listen to (if any) when you write?

I make a playlist of 30 to 40 songs for each book I write. The official Match Me If You Can playlist has songs by Taylor Swift (of course), but also Lenka, Miley Cyrus, Ariana Grande, Snow Patrol, James Arthur, and others.

 

What books or authors inspired you to become a writer?

I started writing romance novels about ten years ago because of Kristan Higgins. She now writes women’s fiction, but she started out as a romance author in the 2010s, and I binged her backlist in a matter of weeks! That was when I decided I also wanted to make people feel as much joy through my writing as she made me feel through hers.

 

About the Book: Match Me If You Can



What is your book about for those who haven’t read it?

Match Me If You Can is a desi romance novel about a young magazine writer who must prove her matchmaking skills and contend with growing feelings for her childhood family friend. It’s pitched as Jane Austen’s Emma meets the classic rom-com You’ve Got Mail, and it comes out June 4, 2024 from Penguin Random House.

 

What has been your inspiration for writing it?

I’ve always loved Jane Austen and commercial modern-day romance, so I thought I’d combine the two and give it an Indian twist. Match Me If You Can is set entirely in Mumbai, India, and boasts an all-desi cast. Although it’s not a ‘true’ Emma retelling and has a diverging plot, I’ve incorporated a lot of my favorite elements from Emma: the cynic x matchmaker pairing, the angst and the pining, and—of course—the focus on family and friendships being just as important as romantic love.

 

What was your favorite scene or part of your book to write?

There’s one scene that comes to mind from somewhere in the second half of the book. It’s when Jia and Jaiman, the two main characters, go to a speed dating mixer along with one of Jia’s friends. Of course, since they’re all participating, that means they have to ‘date’ each other during the event even though they’ve been friends since they were in diapers. That was a really fun way for me to show the romantic potential in their mostly-platonic relationship at that point while still keeping the slowest of slowburns going!

 

Where can your book be purchased?

You can preorder Match Me If You Can in paperback, ebook, or audiobook using this link.

 

To the Future Writer:


What advice would you give to aspiring authors who want to write a book?

Writing a book is hard, but getting published is a hundred times harder. It took me 5 years of trying to find an agent/publisher to finally get a book deal. So keep your dream close to your heart, work on improving your writing and editing skills, and know that you’ll make it in publishing as long as you keep trying—whether it’s ten weeks from now or ten years.



What’s next for you? Any events, upcoming pubs, etc.

Nothing I can speak about right now, but make sure to follow me on Instagram for all updates!


Where can we find you:

Twitter- @SwatiHWrites

Instagram- @swatihegdeauthor

 


What’s on your TBR list?

So many books, but especially by my fellow 2024 debut authors. I can’t wait to read Barely Even Friends by Mae Bennett, The Poisons We Drink by Bethany Baptiste, and Perfect Little Monsters by Cindy R.X. He.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page